SACRAMENTO – Attorney General Kamala D. Harris today announced the creation of the Privacy Enforcement and Protection Unit in the Department of Justice which will focus on protecting consumer and individual privacy through civil prosecution of state and federal privacy laws.
“In the 21st Century, we share and store our most sensitive personal information on phones, computers and even the cloud. It is imperative that consumers are empowered to understand how these innovations use personal information so that we can all make informed choices about what information we want to share,” said Attorney General Harris. “The Privacy Unit will police the privacy practices of individuals and organizations to hold accountable those who misuse technology to invade the privacy of others.”
The California Constitution guarantees all people the inalienable right to privacy. The Privacy Unit will protect this constitutionally-guaranteed right by prosecuting violations of California and federal privacy laws. The Privacy Unit centralizes existing Justice Department efforts to protect privacy, including enforcing privacy laws, educating consumers and forging partnerships with industry and innovators.
The Privacy Unit’s mission to enforce and protect privacy is broad. It will enforce laws regulating the collection, retention, disclosure, and destruction of private or sensitive information by individuals, organizations, and the government. This includes laws relating to cyber privacy, health privacy, financial privacy, identity theft, government records and data breaches. By combining the various privacy functions of the Department of Justice into a single enforcement and education unit with privacy expertise, California will be better equipped to enforce state privacy laws and protect citizens’ privacy rights.
The Privacy Unit will reside in the eCrime Unit and will be staffed by Department of Justice employees, including six prosecutors who will concentrate on privacy enforcement. Joanne McNabb, formerly of the California Office of Privacy Protection, will serve as the Director of Privacy Education and Policy, and will oversee the Privacy Unit’s education and outreach efforts.
Attorney General Harris established the eCrime Unit in 2011 to prosecute identity theft, data intrusions, and crimes involving the use of technology. The eCrime Unit provides investigative and prosecutorial support to the five California regional high-tech task forces funded through the High Technology Theft Apprehension and Prosecution Trust Fund Program and provides coordination for out-of-state technology-crime investigation requests. The eCrime Unit also develops and provides training for law enforcement officers, prosecutors, the judiciary and the public on cyber safety and the importance of strong information-security practices.
The February 2012 press release announcing the apps agreement can be found here:http://oag.ca.gov/news/press-releases/attorney-general-kamala-d-harris-secures-global-agreement-strengthen-privacy
The June 2012 press release announcing that Facebook joined the apps agreement can be found here: http://oag.ca.gov/news/press-releases/attorney-general-kamala-d-harris-announces-expansion-california%E2%80%99s-consumer
The December 2011 press release announcing the creation of the eCrime Unit can be found here: http://oag.ca.gov/news/press-releases/attorney-general-kamala-d-harris-announces-creation-ecrime-unit-targeting
after you take our
you will take your dmv car dealer examination
submit your car dealer license application
to the dmv licensing inspector in san jose
San Jose, 90 Great Oaks, Suite 104, 95119
- (408) 229-7113
most gearheads consider getting a car dealer license
several times before they actually move forward
and take our car dealer class
the benefits are enormous
they costs managable
and most end up saying
i should have done this years ago
stop messing around
and get into one of our car dealer classes
some people want the milk
before they pay for the cow
WE GET IT
Car Dealer Bond FAQ…
What is a dealer bond?
The car dealer bond protects your customers against fraudulent or unethical actions by a dealer. The bond assures the dealer is financially secure in cases where a customer is cheated by a dealer. The DMV and flooring company can also make claims against this dealer bond.
Can I make a down payment and then pay monthly for the dealer bond?
for the best rates on a car dealer bond
Ask about our 30% down payment option.
All surety bond carriers ask for payment of the bond in full,
however Your Car Dealer Bond
has set up a financing program to give
California dealers access to a payment plan for their DMV bond.
The DMV needs the OL-25 form signed – what is this and where do I get it?
The OL 25 is your surety dealer bond.
The original bond that will be sent from your bond carrier will meet this requirement.
How long does it take to receive the initial dealer bond quote?
Approximately 24 hours,
unless your FICO score is below 650.
Then the process usually takes 2 days.
How long does it take to receive the
originally-signed dealer bond needed to obtain my license?
From the time we receive your payment,
it’s typically a week to 10 days
before your receive your bond in hand
depending on where you are located in the country.
We’ve invested in check-by-fax and check-by-email to help expedite our service.
What if I have had some credit issues (bankruptcies, short-sales, foreclosures, etc.)
Most dealers these days have encountered credit issues of some sort.
We have the most competitive surety carriers for all credit levels
so no worries if your credit is less than perfect!
I started with a $10,000 bond because I am a wholesale dealer
and thought I would sell 24 vehicles or less per year.
Will the surety company increase the limit of my bond from $10,000 to $50,000
for additional premium if I will
sell 25 or more cars or I want to retail or auto broker?
Unfortunately not. Once your DMV inspector accepts your bond
issues your dealer license,
the surety company will not make any refunds whatsoever.
The $10,000 bond would have to be canceled and a $50,000 bond
would need to be written without a credit or refund.
Can I pay with a credit card?
You sure can.
For your convenience, we accept Visa, Mastercard, Discover, and American Express.
A standard convenience charge of 5% will be applied.
While we hope you don’t need to incur this additional expense,
some of our customers have found this option extremely helpful.
More Important Info
about Your Car Dealer Bond…
RIDER Process: needing a rider can be very frustrating if it’s only needed because your app was incomplete or something was incorrect. One of most common reasons for a rider that we see is the dealer forgot to put his middle name on the app. The cost is $100 and having to go through this process will add on 2 – 3 weeks to the time before you can be licensed. We are here to help and would rather spend 10 minutes answering your questions to provide you with the best possible experience with respects to your bond acquisition.
The two (2) most time-consuming steps of the car dealer licensing process are:
getting the LiveScan fingerprints into the Department of Justice system. This takes about 45 days and costs about $70; and
forming a corp. or LLC (if applicable). This also takes about 45 – 60 days, although the Secretary of State offers an expedited service for about $375 vs. about $100.
· Del Mar
· San Jose
we are the leaders in
dmv certified car dealer education
in response to high demand
we are now offering a spanish language car dealer class
in modesto at crows landing for those who prefer a spanish teacher
we offer a downloadable spanish handbook after the class
you may call the instructor direct
THE FOLLOWING DOCUMENTS ARE ALSO REQUIRED AS PART OF THE APPLICATION PACKAGE:
• Used Vehicle Dealer or Dealer Wholesale-Only license only
− The original Certiicate of Completion issued by a dealer education program provider
− Proof of successfully passing the Used Dealer Test administered by DMV
• Corporation, Limited Liability Company, or Limited Liability Partnership Owned Businesses Only
A copy of the Articles of Incorporation, Corporate Minutes, or other document iled with the Secretary of State
which identiies the officers, share holders and managers, if iling as a Corporation, Limited Liability Company or
Limited Liability Partnership owned business only.
• Copy of your Fictitious Name Statement
Any business that operates under a name not the actual name of the owner is required to obtain a Fictitious
Name Statement from the city or county in the area where your business is located. If the responsible agency
determines this is not required, a letter supporting such from that agency is needed.
• Copy of lease or rental agreement
• Copy of Your City and/or County Business License
Applicants are required to obtain a city or county business license by the city or county licensing section in the
area where your business is located.
• Copy of Board of Equalization Resale Permit
All applicants are required to ile an application for a Seller’s Permit. The purpose of the permit is to enable the
licensee to collect taxes on sales. A dealer-wholesale only does not collect taxes but is required to ile quarterly
reports. Applications can be made through local State Board of Equalization offices.
• Photograph(s) of Business Location
• Letter of Authorization
Required for new trailer dealers only. The letters of authorization must be on the issuing manufacturers,
distributors, or remanufacturers letterhead and must show either the business or corporate name and address
of the firm exactly as it appears on the application. A letter of authorization is required for each make being sold.
NOTE: Incomplete applications will be returned.